When we drive we should make sure that the safety of us as driver and the safety of passenger are not endangered by any potential threat on the road. Following the law is one way to make sure we drive safely. Wisconsin (WI) car seat law is the law that regulates how and where the children should sit in the car. WI car seat law may be different from other states, so if you live in Wisconsin you better read this car seat law. Without further ado, let’s see the Wisconsin car seat law.
WI Car Seat Law for Children Car Seat
The State of Wisconsin make a law that all children must sit on the back seat of the vehicle. They can sit with a seat belt when they have reached the age of 8 or when they have reached the required height and weight. Before that, they should sit on child safety seat or booster seat.
Birth – 12 months of oldFor babies who are less than 12 months of age or weigh less than 20 pounds, they must be secured in rear facing car seat. They should stay in it as long as possible up until they have outgrown the maximum limits of recommended height and weight, made by manufacturer car seat.
1 – 4 years oldOnce they outgrow the upper limits, the rear facing car seat can be changed into forward facing car seat. They should stay in forward facing car seat until they reach the age of 4 or until they have a minimum weight of 40 pounds.
4 – 8 years oldWI car seat law stated that once the toddlers reach age of 4, or have a weight more than 40 pounds, they can sit in a booster seat.
8 – 12 years oldThe requirement to sit on the back seat of the car with a seat belt are:
- The children must reach a height of four-feet, nine-inches or taller.
- The children must reach a weight of 80 pounds or more.
- The children must reach the age of 8.
Any violation against this law will be fined for non-compliance. The amount of penalty will depend on children’s age. If children are less than 4 years of age, the adult will be fined up to $175.30. If children are between 4 to 8 years of age, the adult will be fined up to $263.50 depending on the level of offense. That is how WI car seat law work.
car seat law for wisconsin in wi laws two seaters 2013 2014 new rear facing state of child regulations year old 2015 2017 front dmv baby booster age chart weight 2016 safety