Car seat law is a regulation from state government to rule how the right way to install child safety seat. Each state may have different law regarding car seat. For example, Nevada car seat law may be different with other states even to its neighbor states. If you want to be a good citizen, you must obey the state laws where you live, or else you get ticket or worse consequences. This article will discuss about Nevada car seat law. Hopefully it can help those who live in the State of Nevada to be more careful when installing child safety seat.
The State of Nevada has stated that every children who is younger than 6 years of age and have weight less than 60 pounds must seat in a child car seat that has been approved by government law. To install child restraint system, parents must refer to manufacturer’s instruction. The child car seat must be chosen according to the child’s age and size. It must be used every time. There is no exception for that. Children must seat in the back seat of the car until they reach the age of 12.
Rear facing car seat
All children who are less than 12 months of age, and who weigh less than 20 pounds must ride on rear facing car seat in the back seat of the car. They should stay ride on rear facing car seat until their weight and height has reached manufacturer’s upper limits.
Forward facing car seat
Booster seatChildren must stay on forward facing car seat with a harness until they have outgrown the seat limits. It usually happens between 4 to 7 years of age. Then children can move onto booster seat. Children must stay on booster seat until they reach the age of 8, a height of four-feet, nine-inches tall, or until they are too big for seat belt in booster seat.
Back seat with seat beltOnce children reach the age of 8, or a height taller than four-feet, nine-inches tall, they can sit on the back seat with seat belt.
Any violation against Nevada car seat law will be fined up to $1,000 or drive license suspension up to 180 days depending on the level of offense.